Question
I have a question on a thrown ball from the catcher who just fielded a bunt throws to first base, the batter baserunner has not reached the 3ft running lane the thrown ball hits the runner in the back and the runner is on the line or just inside fair terr, is the runner out? Same question but the ball is on a dropped 3rd strike or a pass ball is the runner out?
Response
The batter-runner is not out unless the act was intentional. Since the batter-runner was less than half way done the line 8-17-E does not apply.
Note case book play under Three Foot Running Lane
SITUATION A: With the bases loaded, B4, who bats left-handed, hits a ground ball to F3, who is left-handed. The ball is just inside the foul line. F3 throws to F2, but hits B4, who is on her way to first base. B4 is in fair territory, but not reached the 30-foot running lane.
RULING: There is no violation, unless the batter-runner intentionally interfered with F3’s throw. (8-17-E, 8-18-F)
Thursday, November 12, 2009
Tuesday, October 13, 2009
Forfeit
Question
Had a situation this past weekend where a team could not finish the game because of lack of players. It was an official game at the time this took place and score was 2-0. We originally put down 7-0 for the forfeit but was brought to our attention that the game would actually go down as what it was at the current score according to the rulebook. Can you please explain this and why the rule is stated this way.
Response
The philosophy is if the teams have played enough for a regulation game, the game and all stats should stand.
7-0 is an arbitrary score based on one run per inning.
Our scoring of a forfeit game is consistent with most associations.
Rule 4 Sec 7. FORFEITED GAME
B. Score of a forfeited game is 7 to 0 unless the game is forfeited after the number of innings required for a regulation game and the offending team is behind, then the score remains as recorded. If the offending team is leading, the score shall be 7 to 0. All individual and team averages shall be included in the official records, except that no pitcher shall be credited with a victory or charged with a loss in such a game if it is not a regulation game.
Had a situation this past weekend where a team could not finish the game because of lack of players. It was an official game at the time this took place and score was 2-0. We originally put down 7-0 for the forfeit but was brought to our attention that the game would actually go down as what it was at the current score according to the rulebook. Can you please explain this and why the rule is stated this way.
Response
The philosophy is if the teams have played enough for a regulation game, the game and all stats should stand.
7-0 is an arbitrary score based on one run per inning.
Our scoring of a forfeit game is consistent with most associations.
Rule 4 Sec 7. FORFEITED GAME
B. Score of a forfeited game is 7 to 0 unless the game is forfeited after the number of innings required for a regulation game and the offending team is behind, then the score remains as recorded. If the offending team is leading, the score shall be 7 to 0. All individual and team averages shall be included in the official records, except that no pitcher shall be credited with a victory or charged with a loss in such a game if it is not a regulation game.
Tuesday, September 15, 2009
Double First Base
Question
when there is a play being made (throw) at first base from the infield... (2nd, ss, 3rd)
the first base man is completely on the orange bag, not touching any part of the white bag... when she receives the throw from the infield before the batter-runner touches first base... is the runner out or safe....
the book say the fielder must use the white portion of the bag & the runner must use the orange portion of the bag... unless there is errant throw or comming from foul terroritory... they can use either / or bag... (white / orange)
I would have obstuction on the first base man and the runner would be safe. other say she is out regardless of what side of the base they are touching... (white / orange)
some umpires think it is an appeal play, when it comes to play at first when the fielder is touching only the orange bag...
Response
Rule 8 Sec 19 Para B states "the defense must use the white portion"
There are exceptions but they do not seem to apply in the case given.
Since the first baseman is not on the white portion, she is off the portion she should be on. She is off the base and the batter-runner is safe.
In addition, it could also be obstruction and appropriate awards could be made.
Appeals are made by the defense on the offensive so that would not apply at all.
If the batter-runner touched the white portion, the defensive could appeal that she only touched the white and therefore missed the base.
when there is a play being made (throw) at first base from the infield... (2nd, ss, 3rd)
the first base man is completely on the orange bag, not touching any part of the white bag... when she receives the throw from the infield before the batter-runner touches first base... is the runner out or safe....
the book say the fielder must use the white portion of the bag & the runner must use the orange portion of the bag... unless there is errant throw or comming from foul terroritory... they can use either / or bag... (white / orange)
I would have obstuction on the first base man and the runner would be safe. other say she is out regardless of what side of the base they are touching... (white / orange)
some umpires think it is an appeal play, when it comes to play at first when the fielder is touching only the orange bag...
Response
Rule 8 Sec 19 Para B states "the defense must use the white portion"
There are exceptions but they do not seem to apply in the case given.
Since the first baseman is not on the white portion, she is off the portion she should be on. She is off the base and the batter-runner is safe.
In addition, it could also be obstruction and appropriate awards could be made.
Appeals are made by the defense on the offensive so that would not apply at all.
If the batter-runner touched the white portion, the defensive could appeal that she only touched the white and therefore missed the base.
Thursday, August 20, 2009
Batter Runs
Question
this is fast pitch...girl on third, one out.. batter has 1 and 1 court...the ump yells out 1n1 ....the pitch comes in it's called strike two...the batter drops the bat and runs to first base...the catcher not knowing whats going on throws to first and the girl on third runs home....WHAT DO YOU HAVE ???
Response
Our rules interpretations are based on the principal that all players, both offense and defense, should be aware of the situation.
Therefore it is the catcher's responsibility to know the count.
As described, I would score the run and return the batter to the batter's box with a 1-ball & 2-strike count.
If this was an obvious and/or repetitive deceptive act on the part of the offense team, it could be ruled unsportsmanlike. This would result in an initial warning and returning the runner to third. Subsequent acts would be cause for ejection.
--
this is fast pitch...girl on third, one out.. batter has 1 and 1 court...the ump yells out 1n1 ....the pitch comes in it's called strike two...the batter drops the bat and runs to first base...the catcher not knowing whats going on throws to first and the girl on third runs home....WHAT DO YOU HAVE ???
Response
Our rules interpretations are based on the principal that all players, both offense and defense, should be aware of the situation.
Therefore it is the catcher's responsibility to know the count.
As described, I would score the run and return the batter to the batter's box with a 1-ball & 2-strike count.
If this was an obvious and/or repetitive deceptive act on the part of the offense team, it could be ruled unsportsmanlike. This would result in an initial warning and returning the runner to third. Subsequent acts would be cause for ejection.
--
Monday, July 13, 2009
Batter's box fair or foul territory?
Question
If a hit ball settles in the batter’s box and is untouched, is this a fair or foul ball?
Response
The batter's box spans both fair & foul territory. See diagram at bottom right of page 8 of the USSSA rulebook.
So an untouched ball can be either fair or foul. It depends on whether it settles over fair territory including home plate and the foul lines or foul territory.
If a hit ball settles in the batter’s box and is untouched, is this a fair or foul ball?
Response
The batter's box spans both fair & foul territory. See diagram at bottom right of page 8 of the USSSA rulebook.
So an untouched ball can be either fair or foul. It depends on whether it settles over fair territory including home plate and the foul lines or foul territory.
Friday, July 10, 2009
DH Rule
Question
I keep score for the Forest Hill Heat and have a question about the
DH. Can the DH be used defensively for any player or can they only be
used for the person for whom they are batting?
For ex: Susie is DH for Sally who plays 3rd base.
Kathy plays 1st base.
Can Susie play 1st base and be in the field the same time
Sally is playing 3rd base.
Response
The short answer is NO.
There are two players occupying the same batting position - one playing offense and the other playing defense.
For the offensive player to play defense (or vice versa) the defensive play must come out of the game and the batting position now has just one player for the rest of the game. The original defensive player may re-enter but then the original offensive
I keep score for the Forest Hill Heat and have a question about the
DH. Can the DH be used defensively for any player or can they only be
used for the person for whom they are batting?
For ex: Susie is DH for Sally who plays 3rd base.
Kathy plays 1st base.
Can Susie play 1st base and be in the field the same time
Sally is playing 3rd base.
Response
The short answer is NO.
There are two players occupying the same batting position - one playing offense and the other playing defense.
For the offensive player to play defense (or vice versa) the defensive play must come out of the game and the batting position now has just one player for the rest of the game. The original defensive player may re-enter but then the original offensive
Missed Base
Question
I had a situation this year in a 10U game where an opponent hit a three run home run. When she was rounding third base she missed the bag and perceeded to tag home plate and retreat to the dugout. My question is, what is the poper appeal process for me and how would the runner have to return to the base to be legal.
Reponse
If the runner has entered the dugout, she can not return to touch third base (Rule 9 Sec 6 para B)
If she has not entered the dugout and time has not been called, she may retouch home and go to third & then return to home.
Before the ball becomes dead, any fielder with the ball could touch third base (or the runner if she has not entered the dugout) and announce she is appealing.
After all play has completed, any coach or player can make a verbal appeal by simply stating to the umpire that they are appealing the runner missed third base.
I had a situation this year in a 10U game where an opponent hit a three run home run. When she was rounding third base she missed the bag and perceeded to tag home plate and retreat to the dugout. My question is, what is the poper appeal process for me and how would the runner have to return to the base to be legal.
Reponse
If the runner has entered the dugout, she can not return to touch third base (Rule 9 Sec 6 para B)
If she has not entered the dugout and time has not been called, she may retouch home and go to third & then return to home.
Before the ball becomes dead, any fielder with the ball could touch third base (or the runner if she has not entered the dugout) and announce she is appealing.
After all play has completed, any coach or player can make a verbal appeal by simply stating to the umpire that they are appealing the runner missed third base.
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)